Legislative Press Pool Gets New Leadership

Members of the Legislative Press Pool have elected Frontpage Africa’s Reporter, Henry Karmo as president and other new code of officers to stair the affairs of assigned reporters at the Liberian Parliament.

Announcing the official elections results Friday at the Joint Chambers of the Legislature, the Election Commissioner, Nathaniel Daygbor declared Karmo as the new President Elect with 49 votes out of the 61 ballots cast, while his contender, Winston Blyden of Bana FM accumulated the total 12 votes.

He also announced Haji Massalay of Spoon Communications Network as Vice President Elect with 40 votes, thus defeating Women’s TV reporter Ida Reeves with 21 votes.

The Election Commissioner further pronounced Agnes Tarr of Capital FM, Secretary General Elect, Amos Korzawu of Fortune TV as Assistant Secretary Elect and Varney Dukuly from OK FM, Financial Secretary General Elect, all of which had won on white ballots to administer the affairs of the institution for the next two years

Addressing his fellow legislative reporters, minutes after his election, Henry Karmo lauded members of LEGISPOL for reposing confidence in him and the Elections Commission for the conduct of the elections.

Also speaking, Winston Blyden of Bana FM described the elections as free, fair and transparent, promising to work with newly elected officials in the interest of LEGISPOL.

At the same time, Haji Massalay thanked his colleagues for his election as Vice President, while Ida Reeves also promised to always provide her expertise to move the institution forward.

Meanwhile, the newly elected Financial Secretary General of LEGISPOL, Varney Dukuly vowed to serve diligently.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top