Liberian Senate Opposition Rejects Presidential Nominees until 2023 Elections

Reports indicate that the opposition lawmakers in the Liberian Senate has come to a decision to reject all presidential nominees for tenure positions until after the 2023 elections.

Several opposition lawmakers, including Senators Abraham Dillon, Jonathan Sogbie, James Biney, and Jonathan Kaipay, have voiced their concerns about the Senate confirming nominees appointed to tenure positions.

The appointments made by President George Weah and sent to the Senate for confirmation include the Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission, Governance Commission, and the Public Procurement and Concessions Commission.

However, Senators of the ruling party have argued that the President has the constitutional right to nominate new commissioners pursuant to the new Act once the Senate enacts a new law creating the New Commission.

Our sources indicate that the opposition lawmakers are determined to reject these nominees until the October 10, 2023 elections are over as they believe the President’s decision to appoint new individuals now is untimely.

Senate Pro-tempore Albert Chie has not put the relevant Committee’s reports for individuals nominated to the PPCC and GC for consideration, affirming the opposition’s decision to reject these nominees.

The Secretary of the Senate, Nanborlor Singbeh, only read the respective Committees’ reports for those appointed to non-tenure positions, which were unanimously confirmed by members of the Senate.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top