Steve Zargo Elected as Chairman on Defense at Liberian Senate

After huge pressure from the US embassy near Monrovia that led to the resignation of Senator Prince Johnson, the Plenary of the Liberian Senate has elected Lofa County Senator, Steve J.H. Zargo as Chairman of the Senate’s Statutory Committee on Defense, Security, Intelligence and Veteran Affairs.

After the ballot, Grand Bassa County Senator, Nyonblee K. Lawrence said the decision of plenary to elect the Lofa County lawmaker was based on his hard work, competence and experience in the security sector.

Speaking to the Senate’s Plenary following his election, Sen. Zargo, who is also a member of the ECOWAS Parliament, thanked the Senate for reposing confidence in him and promised to work in the interest of the Liberian People, especially reforms within the security sector.

Sen. Zargo will be a part of another 15 Senators re- contesting following the end of their nine year tenure.

It can be recalled that Senator Prince Y. Johnson got elected months back on white ballot based on Senator Zargo’s withdrawal from the race.

Meanwhile, the Liberian Senate has closed for Liberia’s 174th Independence Day celebration to return to Capital August 2, 2021.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


To Top